Apr 6, 2010 11:22 AM

The new Murder By Death album Good Morning, Magpie is available now everywhere in stores and digitally! If you haven’t ran out and bought a copy yet be sure to check out this killer deal Shockhound has going on where you can get the album digitally for only $3.99! Click here to buy now

Apr 5, 2010 5:40 PM

AOL’s Spinner is streaming the new Murder By Death album Good Morning, Magpie on their site. Click HERE to listen. Don’t forget the album hits stores and iTunes tomorrow!

Apr 5, 2010 5:38 PM

Zippo has a cool new feature on Murder By Death on their new music site Click here to check it out and vote for the band to get 50 custom Zippo lighters that maybe, just maybe they’ll pass along to you!

Mar 30, 2010 12:35 PM

Read a track-by-track synopsis from Adam and Sarah for the band’s upcoming album Good Morning, Magpie over at Alternative Press. Click here to read now.

Mar 10, 2010 4:41 PM

Hey folks- we here in MBD are doing a super-bitchin’ contest. When you preorder the album on CD or vinyl from either our webstore or you are automatically entered in a contest to win from the list below. If you’ve already ordered, don’t worry you are included in this contest too. MBD pack these orders themselves, and some will include notes, autographs, and silly bonus prizes. Its fun. Winning rules. Go team.

– a nice bottle of whiskey and a pair of MBD shotglasses to drink it from (delivered at a show to winner/21+ only eligible…exchangeable for $50 at the merch booth, instead) (1 Winner)

– Test Pressing for Good Morning, Magpie (1 Winner)

– Super rare super out of print Little Joe Gould EP from 2000 (1 Winner)

– Super rare super out of print Matt Davis Tribute 7″ from 2004 (1 Winner)

– signed drum sticks (1 Winner)

– one of Sarah’s Busted Tour Cello Bows (2 Winners)

– Super Rare MBD/William Elliott Whitmore split 7″ misprint. (Whitmore song on both sides) ( 3 Winners)

– Hand Screened MBD Tour Poster (5 winners)

– a pair of tickets to the show of your choice (5 Winners)

– All five albums on CD or vinyl (winners choice) (5 Winners)

– MBD bass and guitar picks (10 winners)

-Autographed copies of the album on CD and/or vinyl (25 of each)

– Glossy Posters (200 Winners)

– Sticker (200 Winners)

-various notes and silly knicknacks from MBD

Feb 22, 2010 7:01 PM

WOWWEE! Get yer tickets for our tour this spring in support of our new album.


Feb 16, 2010 3:45 PM

New Murder By Death Track on Punknews!

Punknews is exclusively streaming the track “Foxglove” from Murder By Death’s upcoming album Good Morning Magpie. Click here to listen now!

Jan 15, 2010 11:42 AM

Sarah (who runs our Twitter page) is doing a little thing called “Friday Lyric Leak” on the MBD twitter page where each week she reveals one of her favorite lyrics from the new album. Check it out!

in other news- we have 75% of the album mixed! just wrapping it up next week. very exciting!

Dec 31, 2009 3:18 PM

album is coming along great. just wrapping up the tracking, and in the next few days will be sending it off to Trina Shoemaker (who produced and mixed Red of Tooth and Claw) to mix the album. Very pumped.

Aug 20, 2009 12:53 PM

Murder By Death are excited to announce a new project!

It is an instrumental soundtrack to a book called “Finch” by Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror author Jeff Vandermeer. He approached MBD about doing a soundtrack to go with the limited edition of his new book, and we thought it was such a strange idea we had to do it. The book reminds us of Bladerunner- with spore-faced bad guys. Bitchin’. We locked ourselves up in our friends studio (Farm Fresh) in Bloomington, IN for 5 days and wrote and recorded an instrumental album inspired by the book. We have used a lot of crazy techniques that we have never tried before on this record. Our old pianist Vincent Edwards lent his hand(s) at the piano, organs, and Rhodes. Each song is attempting to recreate a scene or mood from the book- the release shows the page numbers in the book that correspond to each track on the CD. We are putting this out on our label Tent Show records. The pressing with be only 1000 copies. Each copy will come with a download code. Downloads will also be available for purchase as of Oct 7, 2009.

preorder the CD now at


downloads from available oct 7

In Finch, mysterious underground inhabitants known as the gray caps have reconquered the failed fantasy state Ambergris and put it under martial law. They have disbanded House Hoegbotton and are controlling the human inhabitants with strange addictive drugs, internment in camps, and random acts of terror. The rebel resistance is scattered, and the gray caps are using human labor to build two strange towers. Against this backdrop, John Finch must solve an impossible double murder for his gray cap masters while trying to make contact with the rebels. Nothing is as it seems as Finch and his disintegrating partner Wyte negotiate their way through a landscape of spies, rebels, and deception. Trapped by his job and the city, Finch is about to come face to face with a series of mysteries that will change him and Ambergris forever